CLASS 1A PLAYOFFS: Bobcats, Hornets eliminated

Raceland scored 43 points in the opening period and went on to beat Betsy Layne, 77-0, in a Class 1A playoff game played at Rams Stadium on Friday night.

The Bobcats, who finished the season 4-7, managed just 13 total yards.

The Rams improved to 7-4 and will face Paintsville (8-3) in the district championship at Memorial Field on Nov. 15. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m.

At Raceland


BL (4-7)…0    0    0   0 –   0

RL (7-4)..43  14  14   6 – 77


First Quarter

RL – Will Nichols recorded a safety, 11:45

RL – Seth Mills, 23-yard run (Caleb Rowsey kick), 10:19

RL – Gunnur Lewis, 1-yard run (Michael Meade run), 8:56

RL – Gunnur Lewis, 5-yard run (Caleb Rowsey kick), 7:01

RL – Jacob Wallace, 12-yard pass from Jake Heighton (Caleb Rowsey kick), 4:37

RL – Caleb Rowsey, 16-yard run (conversion failed), 3:57

RL – Jacob Wallace, 13-yard pass from Jake Heighton (conversion failed), :01

Second Quarter

RL – Michael Meade, 20-yard INT (Peyton Ison kick), 9:14

RL – Nathaniel Bonzo, 6-yard pass from Jake Heighton (Peyton Ison kick), :51

Third Quarter

RL – Landyn Newman, 45-yard run (Peyton Ison kick), 10:26

RL – Connor Hughes, 46-yard run (Peyton Ison kick), 6:41

Fourth Quarter

RL – Parker Gallion, 15-yard pass from Jake Heighton (conversion failed), 9:14



Four different Hazard running backs scored touchdowns as the Bulldogs rolled to a 36-8 victory over Phelps in the opening round of the Class 1A playoffs at Daniel Field on Friday night.

Brayden Thomas rushed for 101 yards and one score on just four carries as Hazard moved to 7-4. Elijah Gayheart followed with 58 yards and one touchdown on five rushes while Trajon Campbell and Nick Miller added a rushing score.

Max Johnson returned an interception 40 yards for a touchdown.

Dominick Francis had a big night for the Hornets (4-7) with 183 yards rushing on 17 carries and one touchdown. Tyrell Hollis followed with 86 yards on 11 carries.

Hazard will play at Pikeville (10-0) this coming Friday night in the district championship matchup at Hillard Howard Field. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m.