Johnson Central quarterback Ryley Preece

Johnson Central quarterback Ryley Preece wanted nothing more than to go out as a state champion.

He finished off his career holding the hardware high over his head following a stunning 21-20 victory over Boyle County in the Class 4A finals at Kroger Field earlier this month.

Preece guided the Golden Eagles to four state championship game appearances and fifth straight as a team. He has capped his final season by being named the Mountain Top Sports Player of the Year.

He passed for 4,800 career yards and rushed for 2,219 yards, accounting for 67 touchdowns through the air and 50 on the ground.

Meanwhile, Pikeville head football coach Chris McNamee has been named Coach of the Year after guiding the Panthers to a perfect 14-0 season and fifth Class 1A state championship.

Pike County Central defensive standout Nate Roberts was named captain of the first-team defensive unit while Mingo Central quarterback Daylin Goad captains the second team offense and Belfry’s Seth Mounts captains the second-team defense.

Here is a look at the Mountain Top Sports All-Area Football Teams:       

Player of the Year: Ryley Preece, Sr., Johnson Central (Capt.)

Coach of the Year: Chris McNamee, Pikeville



QB – Dalton Meade, Sr., Shelby Valley

QB – Isaac McNamee, So., Pikeville

RB – Isaac Dixon, Jr., Belfry

RB – Devin Johnson, Sr., Johnson Central

RB – Peyton Hensley, Sr., Belfry

RB – Cody Raines, Sr., Pikeville

WR – Drew Hatfield, Sr., Mingo Central

WR – Jackson Hensley, Sr., Pikeville

OL – Peyton Blackburn, Sr., Shelby Valley

OL – Ethan Wolford, Sr., Belfry

OL – Matt Compton, Sr., Pikeville

OL –Andrew Clifton, Sr., Johnson Central

OL – Grant Ray, Sr., Paintsville

UTL – Tyler Hunt, Sr., Pike Central

UTL – Jake Hyden, Jr., Paintsville

UTL – Hunter Campbell, Sr., Letcher Central

K – Jake Headly, Sr., Johnson Central


DL – Jacob Baisden, Sr., Belfry

DL – Brayden Keathley, Sr., Shelby Valley

DL – Landon Hammock, So., Pikeville

DL – Jaylyn Allen, Sr., Paintsville

LB – Mason Lemaster, So., Johnson Central

LB – Grayson Cook, Sr., Belfry

LB – Jon Collum, Sr., Pikeville

LB – Nate Roberts, Sr., Pike Central (Capt.)

LB – Hunter McCloud, Sr., Johnson Central

DB – Seth Pugh, Sr., Pikeville

DB – Dillon Preston, Jr., Johnson Central

DB – Dominick Francs, Jr., Phelps

UTL – Peyton Boyd-Blair, Sr., Pikeville

UTL – Mason Lovely, Jr., Magoffin County

UTL – Isa Scales, Jr., Mingo Central

K – Tanner Hamilton, Pikeville



QB – Daylin Goad, Jr., Mingo Central (Capt.)

QB – Ethan Varney, Sr., Tug Valley

RB – John Walker Phelps, Sr., Paintsville

RB – Jayden Newsome, Fr., Shelby Valley

RB – Matt Anderson, Fr., Pike Central

RB – Logan Proctor, Jr., Martin County

WR – Devin Hatfield, So., Mingo Central

WR – Brock Muncy, Sr., Man

WR – Karsten Poe, Jr., Paintsville

OL – Logan McCoy, Jr., Belfry

OL – Nick Harless, Sr., Martin County

OL – Jared Webb, Tug Valley

OL – Owen Lemaster, So., Johnson Central

OL – Jason Buttery, Sr., Letcher Central

OL – Grant Bingham, So., Johnson Central

UTL – Caleb May, Jr., Tug Valley

UTL – Baden Gillispie, Jr., Lawrence County

UTL – Chase Mims, So., Betsy Layne

K – Seth Trador, Sr., Paintsville


DL – Braden Castle, Sr., Johnson Central

DL – Brayden Hensley, Sr., Lawrence County

DL – Landon Dotson, So., Phelps

DL – Braxton Collins, So., Prestonsburg

LB – Seth Mounts, Jr., Belfry (Capt.)

LB – Preston Dingess, Sr., Mingo Central

LB – Chase Berry, Sr., Chapmanville

LB – Kaden Caudill, Sr., Pikeville

LB – Noah Marcum, Sr., Floyd Central

DB – Isaiah Birchfield, Belfry

DB – Clay Tinsley, Sr., Pikeville

DB – Zach Frye, Sr., Man

DB – Cody Rice, Sr., Johnson Central

UTL – Jordan Hayes, So., Logan

UTL – Ethan Bentley, So., Shelby Valley

UTL – Dalton Boyd, Sr., Floyd Central

K – Xavier Trump, Sr., Chapmanville